Contact Your Counselor

Finding your admission counselor

We assign an admission counselor to every student, based upon either the school that you attend or where you live. Look for your counselor (below) based on the North Carolina county or the state in which your school is located. .

We would love to connect with you! You can schedule a one-on-one video chat with your counselor. This is a great opportunity to meet your counselor, learn about Appalachian and explore your opportunities as a Mountaineer. Find your counselor below and schedule your video chat today!

Schedule a one-on-one video chat now!

Counselor Student Types NC Counties, Out-of-State Areas, UNC System Schools & Community Colleges Served

Liz Alliss

Assistant Director of Admissions


Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Cleveland, Gaston, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania, Yancey

South Carolina

Kyndall Bennett

Admissions Counselor


Alamance, Beaufort, Bertie, Camden, Caswell, Chatham, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Edgecombe, Franklin, Gates, Granville, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Martin, Nash, Northampton, Orange, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Person, Pitt, Randolph, Tyrrell, Vance, Warren, Washington, Wilson

Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia

Brittney Benson

Brittney Benson

Admissions Counselor


Anson, Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Duplin, Greene, Harnett, Hoke, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Moore, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Richmond, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland, Wayne

Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Florida, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Puerto Rico, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Washington, Wyoming

Jayne Dowdy

Jayne Lybrand Dowdy

Associate Director of Transfer & Military Recruitment

Military/veteran students, Online & Transfer students

Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Duplin, Edgecombe, Greene, Johnston, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Nash, New Hanover, Onslow, Pender, Pitt, Robeson, Sampson, Wake, Wayne, Wilson

East Carolina University
Fayetteville State University
North Carolina State University
University of North Carolina at Pembroke (UNCP)
University of North Carolina at Wilmington (UNCW)

Bladen Community College
Brunswick Community College
Cape Fear Community College
Coastal Carolina Community College
Craven Community College
Edgecombe Community College
Fayetteville Technical Community College
James Sprunt Community College
Johnston Community College
Lenoir Community College
Martin Community College
Nash Community College
Pitt Community College
Robeson Community College
Sampson Community College
Southeastern Community College
Wake Technical Community College
Wayne Community College
Wilson Community College

Heather Edwards

Assistant Director of Admissions


Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Burke, Caldwell, Catawba, Lincoln, Watauga, Wilkes

Alabama, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Ohio, Tennessee, Wisconsin

Emiline Greer

Emiline Greer

Assistant Director of Admissions


Durham, Johnston, Wake

Pressley Laton

Associate Director of Transfer Recruitment

Online & Transfer students

Alamance, Beaufort, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Chatham, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Durham, Forsyth, Franklin, Gates, Granville, Guilford, Halifax, Harnett, Hertford, Hoke, Hyde, Lee, Montgomery, Moore, Northampton, Orange, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Person, Randolph, Richmond, Rockingham, Scotland, Stokes, Tyrrell, Vance, Warren, Washington

Elizabeth City State University
North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State College
North Carolina Central University
North Carolina School of Science and Math
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (UNCCH)
University of North Carolina at Greensboro (UNCG)
University of North Carolina School of the Arts
Winston-Salem State University

Alamance Community College
Beaufort County Community College
Carteret Community College
Central Carolina Community College
College of the Albemarle
Durham Technical Community College
Forsyth Technical Community College
Guilford Technical Community College
Halifax Community College
Montgomery Community College
Pamlico Community College
Piedmont Community College
Randolph Community College
Richmond Community College
Roanoke-Chowan Community College
Rockingham Community College
Sandhills Community College
Vance-Granville Community College

Karen Laws

Transfer Recruitment Specialist

Online & Transfer students

Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Caldwell, Cherokee, Clay, Davidson, Davie, Graham, Iredell, Jackson, Macon, Surry, Swain, Watauga, Wilkes, Yadkin

Western Carolina University

Caldwell Community College - Hudson
Caldwell Community College - Watauga
Davidson Davie Community College
Mitchell Community College
Southwestern Community College
Surry Community College
Tri-County Community College
Wilkes Community College

Octavia Little

Associate Director of Recruitment - Teacher Education

Education majors

Sam Shireman

Sam Shireman

Transfer Recruitment Specialist

Online & Transfer students

Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Cleveland, Gaston, Henderson, Lincoln, Madison, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Transylvania, Yancey

University of North Carolina at Asheville (UNCA)

Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College
Blue Ridge Community College
Cleveland Community College
Gaston College
Isothermal Community College
Mayland Community College
Western Piedmont Community College

Shakinah Simeona-Lee

Sr. Associate Director for Diversity Initiatives

First-Year, Hispanic students

Guilford, Rockingham

Buffy Sisk

Buffy Sisk

Associate Director of Transfer Recruitment

Online & Transfer students

Anson, Cabarrus, Catawba, Haywood, McDowell, Mecklenburg, Rowan, Stanly, Union

University of North Carolina at Charlotte (UNCC)

Catawba Valley Community College
Central Piedmont Community College
Haywood Community College
McDowell Technical Community College
Rowan-Cabarrus Community College
South Piedmont Community College
Stanly Community College

David Stevenson

Assistant Director of Admissions

First-Year, International students

Mecklenburg, Union

Elena Tribby Taylor

Elena Tribby Taylor

Associate Director of Admissions


Cabarrus, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Iredell, Montgomery, Rowan, Stanly, Stokes, Surry, Yadkin

Beth Watts

Beth Watts

Associate Director of Transfer Advising

Dual Enrolled/Early College students, Online & Transfer students

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Marshall Islands, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virgin Islands, Virginia, Washington, Washington D.C., West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming